And This is One of My Favorite Things

Standard

I have been obsessed with Sara Bareilles since I first heard her first major- label album, Little Voice, which came out in 2007.  Her most famous song, “Love Song”, comes from this album. Her most recent album, Brave, came out July 16,2013. So, naturally, I bought it that day. I am one of those people who find a song and put it on repeat until I hate it.  Well, this song has been on repeat pretty much since July, and I don’t hate it yet. So, that must be a sign.

When we were told about the Biblical Allusions project, there was no doubt in my mind that I was going to do this song. This song is actually an allegory. However, only certain lines actually allude to the story of the Garden of Eden and the Fall of Adam and Eve in Genesis 2-3.

I’ll bold the allusions and take it from there.

These are the lyrics.

“Eden”

Let me paint a picture for you then I’ll have to teach you to see it
Illustrate the remnants of the life I used to live here in Eden
Rolled a lucky pair of dice, ended up paradise
Landed on a snake’s eyes, took a bite and ended up bleeding

You know if I could change anything, I think I would start with the name
The truth is all those angels started acting the same
And I know there’s no going back now cause
Life in Eden
Life in Eden changed
No way to make the pain play fair
It doesn’t disappear just because you say it isn’t there
So when they ask why’d she go you can say cause
Life in Eden
Life in Eden changed
Life in Eden changed

Walking in the garden was a serpent-shaped heart and he told me
That what is broken cannot show, and less than beautiful is worse than unholy
Idolized my innocence, stole it from me in the end
Now I’m wide awakened and still paying for the poison they sold me

You know if I could change anything, I think I would start with the name
The truth is all those angels started acting the same
And I know there’s no going back now cause
Life in Eden
Life in Eden changed
No way to make the pain play fair
It doesn’t disappear just because you say it isn’t there
So when they ask why’d she go you can say cause
Life in Eden
Life in Eden changed
Life in Eden changed

There was a time when I was taking all bets
That this place was even better than as good as it gets
And now looking back from the outside in
I think I was choking on the air in Eden

You know if I could change anything, I think I would start with the name
The truth is all those angels started acting the same
And I know there’s no going back now cause
Life in Eden
Life in Eden changed
No way to make the pain play fair
It doesn’t disappear just because you say it isn’t there
So when they ask why’d she go you can say cause
Life in Eden
Life in Eden changed
When they ask why’d she go you
Cause life in Eden
Life in Eden changed
Life in Eden changed
Life in Eden changed

If you didn’t know the story of the Garden of Eden and the Fall of Adam and Eve, this song would make zero sense.

Eden is obviously referring to the Garden of Eden. It is a perfect place, or paradise.

Landed on a snake’s eyes, took a bite and ended up bleeding” is a reference to Eve being tempted by the serpent and taking a bite of the fruit. As a result of that, we now have menstruation. Thanks, Eve. 

Walking in the garden was a serpent-shaped heart” is alluding to the serpent again tempting Eve.

” less than beautiful is worse than unholy” refers to being holy is to be different or like Yahweh. We picture Yahweh to be perfect; so, less than beautiful is not Yahweh-like.

Idolized my innocence, stole it from me in the end” refers to the innocence she had before eating the fruit, and the serpent telling her she would be like Yahweh.

“Now I’m wide awakened and still paying for the poison they sold me” alludes to the instant knowledge of good and evil Adam and Eve had once they ate from the fruit. Men and women are still paying for The Fall of Adam and Eve.

looking back from the outside” alludes to Adam and Eve being kicked out of the Garden of Eden.

This girl lives in a “perfect” place. Then, something changed. She no longer believed the place was perfect because of the situation. Everyone was acting the same, and no one was being themselves. Now, she realizes that the people took advantage of her. Now, looking back, she doesn’t believe “Eden” was so perfect after all.

Knowing the story in Genesis 2-3 helped me understand the underlying storyline within the song. Without that prior knowledge, this song would be just words strung together in a nice beat.

Leave a Reply

